Area of Responsibility

Aloha Nui Loa!

Station Maui is located on the South shore of the Island of Maui at Maalaea Harbor. The prevailing Northeast trade winds frequently measure in the 20-30 kt range at the Station. Our AOR covers the waters surrounded by all four islands of Maui County (Maui, Molokai, Lanai, & Kaho'olawe) and includes Molokini Crater. Prevailing winds normally put the AOR in leeward conditions with the exception of Maalaea Bay off Sugar Beach and the Alenuihaha and Pailolo Channels. With waivers from Sector Honolulu, we cover areas up to 50 NM from Maui County including Northern shorelines on the "Big Island" of Hawaii. Windward cases are usually prosecuted by other USCG assets.